Chess corner


Do you like to play Chess?

I do! Unfortunately, I have no time to enjoy a nice full time control games anymore 😦

I do not like blitz games. I like long games where you can plan properly and thus improve your strategic play. Blitz, to me, is not allowing you to do this. Apart of training your tactical game and short vision, you are not getting too much from it. It is too much game of chance and blunders. It is more or less game of who memorized longer opening lines. Not necessarily best ones but those that you can surprise the opponent with new and unexpected move.

And are you using a computer for analysis? That’s fine to some extend but again computers are still not good enough with strategy. Chess algorithms are quite advance these days but still they lack of lot of the strategic planning pluses that humans have. IMHO computer is useful to quick sanity check on a moves for blunders and tactics (yeah, comps are extremely good in this) but still you have to put your own brain in to work to come up with some strategic plan. Otherwise, you will suffer some bad defeats 🙂

I started this post with an idea to introduce to you a series of good chess books by Jeremy Silman. I am child of the Russian and Bulgarian chess teaching systems and methodology. If you have even the smallest piece of chess talent, using those methods you can quickly rise to master levels. However, what is missing in those systems is the bit that can teach you to play good chess if you are not talented. Believe me, you may be a profane and still learn to play master level chess. I wasn’t sure how exactly this can be achieved, until I read Jeremy’s books. He found way to explain to the masses what’s going on inside masters head and also to presents a nice and easy way to train yourself to think like a master.

For one who decides to give it a go, I recommend following of the books to read:

  1. How to Reassess Your Chess: Chess Mastery Through Chess Imbalances
  2. The Reassess Your Chess Workbook: How to Master Chess Imbalances
  3. The Amateur’s Mind: Turning Chess Misconceptions into Chess Mastery
  4. Silman’s Complete Endgame Course: From Beginner to Master
  5. The Complete Book of Chess Strategy: Grandmaster Techniques from A to Z

I would suggest reading these books in this particular order, but any other one will do the job as longer as you keep the order of first and second book.

One last thing before I finish with my gibberish that I am calling a blog – If you are interested of playing chess and have not so much time as me, we can play some form of correspondent chess – let’s call it “Blog chess” 🙂 Just let me now that you are interested. I will create a section (“Chess corner”) on this blog, where we could post our moves. It will be funny I think 🙂

Cheers

2 comments on “Chess corner

  1. Pingback: Georgi's blog

  2. Pingback: The Mammoth Book of Chess | Georgi's blog

Leave a Reply

